Honda Clarity Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apologize for the (needlessly) provocative title, and for my lack of EE understanding. I'm a life scientist by training.

In SoCal last night we had very strong winds and therefore a PSPS (Public Safety Power Shutoff) in my neighborhood for almost 20h. Last night while I struggled to get my old Harbor Freight 2-cycle generator to run I kept thinking that I had a very efficient gasoline engine with a 17 kVa battery sitting in my driveway. There must be a way to use my car to run my refrigerator during power loss, right? Well I found some threads on other EV forums but not here.

Is there a smart and safe (for me, and the car) way for us to use our 2020 Clarity PHEV cars to serve as a backup electricity source for a household fridge? The alternatives that I see people talk about (powerwalls, generacs) are all in the multi-thousands of dollars. Any system that would be in the hundreds of dollars would be useful to many Californians driving a Clarity.

I bought my Clarity on Sep 12, 2020 and so far it's been great. I've bought gas twice...three gallons each time. L1 charging in my driveway. No complaints about the car at all.

·
Registered
60 Posts
There are no 110 outlets on the car, such as my previous Ford C-Max had, and if there were I'm thinking the current draw from your fridge would be a bit too much to handle anyway. The car is designed to accept external charging from several sources and the ICE (internal combustion engine) will charge the battery but I know of no way to connect to a fridge and not void the warranty. A small generator might do the trick though.

·
Registered
51 Posts