Honda Clarity Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can the Clarity PHEV be configured to stop charging at 3:45 PM each day and then resume at 8:15 PM? When I looked through the owners manual (I have both) and the on-board settings I couldn't figure out how to do this?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Nope. One setting per 24 hr cycle. My juice box can provide a separate, additional charge time so I can get two per day if I needed it.

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bad design in an EV. More proof that the Clarity was a technology testbed for Honda and not something they wanted to go mainstream.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Bad design in an EV. More proof that the Clarity was a technology testbed for Honda and not something they wanted to go mainstream.
I've been driving EVs since 1997, and none of them have had the feature you are asking for. Not even the 2021 Chevy Bolt.

It's not necessarily an indication that their manufacturers treated them as "a technology testbed".

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've been driving EVs since 1997, and none of them have had the feature you are asking for. Not even the 2021 Chevy Bolt.

It's not necessarily an indication that their manufacturers treated them as "a technology testbed".
My Volt has this ability. It's set to charge from 8:15 PM to midnight and then midnight to 3:45 PM. Teslas apparently have this ability as well. Bottom line, EVs need to be able to stop charging during peak power consumption hours and not have to rely on the EVSE equipment to do this.

·
Registered
159 Posts
My Volt has this ability. It's set to charge from 8:15 PM to midnight and then midnight to 3:45 PM. Teslas apparently have this ability as well. Bottom line, EVs need to be able to stop charging during peak power consumption hours and not have to rely on the EVSE equipment to do this.
That must have been a Gen2 Volt capability. My 2011 didn't seem to have it.