Honda Clarity Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just took delivery of a 2021 Crimson Pearl Touring, and feel fortunate to have found a vehicle equipped the way I wanted in an exterior and interior color set that I also wanted. New cars are tough to find right now. The Clarity completes a stable that also currently includes a 2021 Chevy Bolt EV and a 2008 Honda S2000.

The S2000 is shortly going to my son, as he demanded right of first refusal when I decided to sell it. It's incredible that I can get $35k for a car that I paid $33k for, thirteen years ago.

I've been driving EVs since 1997, starting with a '97 EV-1. Since then, we've put PV on the roof, leased two more EV-1s ('99 and '97a), bought a fleet-lease-returned 1999 Ford Ranger EV, an E-GPR electric motorcycle conversion, a 2001 Toyota RAV4-EV, a 2011 Nissan Leaf, 2011 Chevy Volt, the '21 Bolt and '21 Clarity. I'm hoping that the Clarity will be the last vehicle I ever need to buy.

Bought the Clarity to replace the '11 Volt, which we sold to another son. Great car, but showing its age. The Clarity is really the only remaining vehicle on the market that both fits the need of an around-town EV, and a road-tripper. It's criminal that both GM and Honda have stopped making these workhorse PHEVs, that can successfully bridge the gap between an EV and an ICE vehicle.

As a recovering EE, I really geek over the tech in new vehicles, and look forward to the day when I can call up a driverless car to take me wherever I want to go. We're just not quite there yet.

I noticed that gasoline is about $5 a gallon around here right now. I haven't cared about gas prices in over twenty years.

·
Registered
699 Posts
Wow that is an amazing history you have there. What type of range did you get with your EV-1s?