Honda Clarity Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I asked this question before in another thread, and one member suggested I should try engaging the regen in an alley to see if I can see the reflection of the brake lights. Unfortunately, I don't have any alleys handy nearby, and even if I did, I would have to be driving pretty swiftly for an alley since the regen won't even work under 7mph.

So I thought I'd ask again if anyone knows this, since I've had the car for the better part of a year and have always been curious about this. Part of me thinks they should come on for safety's sake, but another part of me doesn't want people to think I'm a horrible driver riding the brakes constantly down a hill. I also don't know if the brake lights come on in other EVs/PHEVs when using regen.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2018 PHEV Touring Atlanta, GA
1,080 Posts
another part of me doesn't want people to think I'm a horrible driver riding the brakes constantly down a hill.
Edit - my comments below are about regen as used by ACC. I now realize that you might be referring to just using the paddles. Using the paddles for regen does not turn on the brake lights in my experience. One person claimed that they do sometimes come on when using the paddles, but I would think that is rare because I have never seen it.

(my original comment about ACC)